Our working arrangements and important information during the Covid-19 pandemic

Following Government guidance, members of chambers, clerks and staff are now working remotely. During this period clerks and staff will be available by email, on their direct dial and mobile numbers. Our switchboard will also be in operation during chambers working hours (Monday-Friday, 08.30-18.30).

Paul Bunting
(Senior Clerk)

Paul.Bunting@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9502

07971 843023

Richard Sheehan
(Deputy Senior Clerk)

Richard.Sheehan@selbornechambers.co.uk

0207 420 9503

07870 128617

Oliver Ventura
(First Junior Clerk)

Oliver.Ventura@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9505

07845 079675

Aron Hanks
(Second Junior Clerk)

Aron.Hanks@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9506

07508 032811

Daniel Parker
(Junior Clerk)

Daniel.Parker@selbornechambers.co.uk

0207 420 9490

07512 842 838

Brandy Forrester
(Fees Manager)

Brandy.Forrester@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9507

07702 496628

Charlotte Crane
(Marketing Manager)

Charlotte.Crane@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9501

07585 445470

Please note that as we are working remotely we will not be able to accept deliveries to chambers, therefore please speak to one of the clerks who will be able to provide an alternative address or solution to this.

For more information please see our response to Covid-19.

In the Matter of the Estate of Peter Henry Wales

23.07.2020

Stephen Boyd acted for the successful nephews and nieces by affinity in the Matter of the Estate of Peter Henry Wales.

By his will, the deceased gave his residuary estate to “such all of my nephew’s and niece’s children”. At the date of his death, the deceased had two blood nephews and two blood nieces. He also had three nephews by marriage and one niece by marriage. The issue for determination was whether the estate fell to be divided between the blood relatives alone or also the nephews and niece by affinity.

It was held by Master Teverson on 17 July 2020, that in the light of the surrounding circumstances, applying Marley v Rawlings [2015] AC 129 and Re Daoust [1944] 1 All ER 443, and considering the Canadian case of Re Holmes (2007) BCSC 51, the deceased intended to include nephews and nieces by affinity as well as by consanguinity.

Menu