Our working arrangements and important information during the Covid-19 pandemic

Following Government guidance, members of chambers, clerks and staff are now working remotely. During this period clerks and staff will be available by email, on their direct dial and mobile numbers. Our switchboard will also be in operation during chambers working hours (Monday-Friday, 08.30-18.30).

Paul Bunting
(Senior Clerk)

Paul.Bunting@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9502

07971 843023

Richard Sheehan
(Deputy Senior Clerk)

Richard.Sheehan@selbornechambers.co.uk

0207 420 9503

07870 128617

Oliver Ventura
(First Junior Clerk)

Oliver.Ventura@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9505

07845 079675

Aron Hanks
(Second Junior Clerk)

Aron.Hanks@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9506

07508 032811

Daniel Parker
(Junior Clerk)

Daniel.Parker@selbornechambers.co.uk

0207 420 9490

07512 842 838

Brandy Forrester
(Fees Manager)

Brandy.Forrester@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9507

07702 496628

Charlotte Crane
(Marketing Manager)

Charlotte.Crane@selbornechambers.co.uk

020 7420 9501

07585 445470

Please note that as we are working remotely we will not be able to accept deliveries to chambers, therefore please speak to one of the clerks who will be able to provide an alternative address or solution to this.

For more information please see our response to Covid-19.

Business Rates Avoidance Schemes: Secretary of State v PAG Asset Preservation Ltd [2020] EWCA Civ 101

01.08.2020

The Court of Appeal has handed down its judgment in Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy v PAG Asset Preservation Ltd [2020] EWCA Civ 101, dismissing the Secretary of State’s appeals.

The Secretary of State had presented petitions under s.124A of the Insolvency Act 1986 (to wind up two companies, PAG Asset Preservation Limited (“PAGAPL”) and MB Vacant Property Solutions Limited (“MBV”) (collectively “the Companies”), on public interest grounds. The Companies operated schemes for the avoidance or mitigation of national non-domestic rates (colloquially known as ‘business rates’). It was alleged by the Secretary of State that the schemes in question misused or abused or subverted the insolvency legislation, so that the Companies ought to be wound up.

The Court of Appeal unanimously upheld the decision of HHJ Stephen Davies, who dismissed the petitions and refused to wind up the Companies.

Nicholas Trompeter (led by David Chivers Q.C.) appeared for the Companies. He was instructed by Jonathon Crook of Gorvins Solicitors.

Menu